Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-04-2020, 16:08   #1

Hello From Wisconsin!

Hello everyone!

I've been lurking for a week or so and wanted to join to ask a few questions!

For whatever reason (perhaps too much sitting around the house) I have recently become interested in boating and sailing. I live very close to the harbor in Racine, Wisconsin and am an airline pilot and father of two, ages 10 and 12. I am also the President of a local flying club, so sailing falls nicely into a general category of things I am interested in.

I am an absolute 100% beginner. Obviously, being a pilot, I can explain the physics of sailing quite easily, but beyond YouTube videos, I know very little else. I am very interested in learning more.

My question is: Is there anything like an "intro" sail to see if this is something I and my family might be interested in pursuing? I see there is a SailTime sailing school here in Racine, but I would hate to drop any serious money on lessons if the moment I step on a boat or head out on the lake, I decide this is something I would not be interested in.

Do I just wander around the harbor, stop in the Yacht Club, or how do I get more information to do a test sail? I'm certainly not expecting a freebie, but am seriously interested in at least taking the first steps.

Hello and thanks for reading!

Scott
BrockS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2020, 16:40   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Re: Hello From Wisconsin!

Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, Scott.

GordMay is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2020, 16:44   #3
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Fiberglas shattering 44' steel trawler

Welcome to the forum, Scott.