Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Welcome Aboard > Meets & Greets
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-09-2021, 00:51   #1

Hello From Newbies David and Tracey

Hello to Cruisers,

My wife and I have recently purchased the plans for a 2012 Waller catamaran from a guy in New Zealand who has completed some of the hull structure. I am stuck in a hotel in London ATM waiting on a place in New Zealand quarintine so I have not had a chance to view the hulls. (Stuck??? Well there are worse places to be stuck)... Although I bought it around 3 months ago.
I am a fishing vessel captain I have a Master V (Aust) ticket. I am a New Zealander. My wife is a qualified chef. I am currently working on 200m log ships and are returning home from a voyage but have not made it yet. I have had my share on disaster situations and haver been in two Cyclones/Typhoons/Huricanes and have bypast many on the ships without actually needing to go right through them.

Try as I might to find a Cat for sale that is that is the same as the one I purchased and I have not found anything. It's Waller 1200 its 12m long and 6.5m wide. I am tring to determine the vessels worth once the build is finished. It is a plywood glass construction. It seems that it is a very good design and is really good in rough weather and big seas. There is a video on you tube from the mid 90's of several yachts that were in a huge storm off the nortyhern tip of New Zealand in the mid 90's there was a plywood yacht around 40ft which did not roll or sink that was salvaged after and it's for all intentions still sailing. Not the same deisgner but of very similar weight, design and construction.