Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-06-2019, 02:41   #1

Hello from Louisiana

Hello, everyone, I am new here. Owning a sailboat is something I have wanted to do for some time. I am 58 love scuba diving and close to retirement and would like to start my journey. I have no experience in sailing I would like to sail mostly the Gulf of Mexico to Flordia and the Bahamas. I will appreciate any guidance in what size boat and here to start first I will be sailing solo.

Thanks, Chris
Chris88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2019, 03:06   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Re: Hello from Louisiana

Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, Chris.

GordMay is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2019, 02:17   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by GordMay View Post
Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, Chris.
Thanks
Maybe you can answer this what size boat is a good size for solo sailing
Old 26-06-2019, 03:12   #4

Boat: Wildcat 35, Hobie 33

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris88 View Post
Thanks
Maybe you can answer this what size boat is a good size for solo sailing
Its not the size that makes a boat good/bad for single-handed sailing, its how its set up & and its sailing characteristics.

Setup: How easy to reach are winches & control lines from the cockpit. How reefing is set-up? What is the "sail plan" (more smaller sails are easier than fewer bigger sails)? Example: a "cutter" rig in moderate wind running under just main & staysail is super easy to tack as both sails are typically self-tending. A well set up bigger boat can be easier to single hand than a poorly set up smaller boat.