Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Welcome Aboard > Meets & Greets
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-12-2019, 12:50   #1

Hello from Cornwall, UK.

Hi All, My Name is Chris, I am relatively new to sailing, My partner has very kindly bought me a Westerly Nimrod for Christmas. I have previously owned a seafarer 465 many years ago and sailed her a handful of times. I bought my first boat when i was 8 and that is more years ago than i care to remember! I have had small power boats ever since and currently own a wellcraft 185 and a 20' boston whaler. I have a wealth of experience with repairs and servicing but have very very little knowledge about sailing! I hope that we can exchange tips and advice to make all of our days afloat a little more enjoyable!

Many thanks

Chris.
croge321 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-12-2019, 13:12   #2

Boat: 50’ Bavaria
Re: Hello from Cornwall, UK.

Hi Chris! You have the perfect partner... we are all very jealous
Tillsbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-12-2019, 15:43   #3

Chris

Welcome from a fellow Nimrod owner. I’ve had mine 5 years and my tips are:

Check the 2 bailers at the rear of the cockpit. They are (I think) unique to the Nimrod and if they leak the rear end of the cockpit gets a bit wet underfoot. Happily making your own seals is quite straightforward.

When you get the opportunity (hoist or afloat with swim goggles on) check the keel for corrosion and free play.