Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-02-2018, 21:47   #1

Hello from Borneo

Hi all

Complete novice who is contemplating dipping my toe into the world of boats. (No pun intended!) Hoping to learn the basics in the waters off Brunei before venturing further afield once confidence and skills have increased. I have half an eye on a nice looking Freya 39 for sale in Langkawi and just wonder if this boat is a good size? 2 adults - teens heading off to uni. We both work here so won't be living on board. Just heading out during holidays and weekends. I look forward to listening to advice and reading through various threads shortly.
Cheers
Jon
dryhillsjon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2018, 03:19   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Re: Hello from Borneo

Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, Jon.

GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2018, 23:11   #3

Boat: Island Packet 40

I have very fond memories of Scotch dancing nights at the Brunei Town yacht club.
RaymondR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2018, 12:21   #4
Marine Service Provider

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Howdy Jon, Welcome aboard CF!

As I recall, there are some Freya 39 owners here on CF.

Here are some previous discussions of that boat design:
https://cse.google.com/cse?cx=011403...039&gsc.page=1

Good luck on your decision and boat hunt and bon voyage on the forum too!
Steadman Uhlich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2018, 15:33   #5

I would think the layout of this boat is just about optimum for 2 adults - always provided they are friends :-)!