Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Welcome Aboard > Meets & Greets
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-05-2010, 21:17   #1

Boat: FPD 1760 LCD 17"screen
Greetings from a Total Newbie

And I mean that - total newbie. I have never set foot on a sailboat .Motorboats and ferries is my current experience .

So what moved me to be interested in sailing? Well ,when I met my partner he talked a lot about his dream of owning a boat,taking it cruising and I was enthralled by the idea, obviously knowing nothing.But the idea appealed and how! Well ,since then the idea has grown,I have done a lot of reading already and we are both selling our houses and will buy a boat and house with mooring .

So my reason for being here is a fact finding mission ,learning /appreciating as much as I can . My partner is starting his helmsman´s course tomorrow . After that it will be my turn to learn. So for now I will be lurking and absorbing osmotically hopefully.

The big idea is this : a trip to Tristan da Cunha,but not limited to that I am sure.
We do know though that it is not an undertaking for tomorrow or even next year, but one to consider after many practice hours and study. So in the meantime if you permit me I will be living vicariously through you .
Adax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 21:47   #2

Welcome aboard dude. There are some smart folks on here. Good luck and don't be afraid to ask any question.
rebel heart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 21:48   #3
Ike

Boat: FL12 12 ft rowboat, 8 foot sailing dink, 18 foot SeaRay I/O
Welcome aboard. Study Hard. Learn all that you can before going. Good luck.
Old 12-05-2010, 21:55   #4