Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-02-2010, 01:02   #1

Get Me on the Water

Hello all. My name is James. I am a police officer who's had enough. I need to live a new and relaxed life...and SOON! I am looking for my first purchase of a boat the my young girlfriend, my son and I can live aboard and cruise as "Frugal Sailors". That being said, I'll need a boat that a rookie can handle and still have the room for comfort. Can't have a mutany yet.

Grateful for any and all advice from experience, and able to laugh with those who provideat the wise cracks at this newbie's expence. Ready and eager to learn Captain(s)!
jmd063 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2010, 08:54   #2

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Location: We're technically refugees from our home in Yemen now living in Lebenon
Boat: 1978 CT48
Welcome to the forum James.
Looking for a boat is a bit like looking for a new girlfriend....seems the harder you look the more ilusive...The good ones find you.
Of course you still have to be available to be found.
My recommendation for boat shopping is to start walking the docks and see what calls out to you...bring your camera so you can take lots of pictures ....and post them here...then well give our 2 cents.
Nice to have you and once again....... welcome!
James S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2010, 10:03   #3

Welcome

You don't say anything about experience or whether you are talking sail or power boat. Assuming little or no experience and that you are thinking about cruising on a sailboat:

1. Learning to sail, even including navigation and basic boat maintenance, is easy. Anyone with time and determination can become reasonably competent in a matter of weeks; and you do not need to own a boat to do this.