Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-05-2018, 09:51   #1

Family Plan

Hey everyone! I’m brand new to the boating community but I’m excited to learn all it has to offer. Hopefully I can get some guidance on our journey.

I’m 35 and my wife is 32. I’m an engineer and she’s a nurse. We have four kids (10, 8, 3, almost 2). We have come to the conclusion that we’re not happy with our status quo. We both have good jobs and live in a nice area with good schools and communities, but we’re not happy. We recently decided to work towards becoming long term cruisers. I’m very pragmatic, and I understand the complications, both financially and personal. I’m just so tired of being stuck in a Netflix world.

We have a plan to purchase a boat large enough for our family of 6 and cruise the world. I would be willing to learn how to sail (there is a large lake near our home with a large sailing community) but my wife would rather purchase a power boat. With a family our size, I’m thinking a catamaran or trimaran would be the most effective use of space. We haven’t made any decisions. I’m just here to solicit info and advice.

More to follow...
KingCong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2018, 11:06   #2

Boat: Fortuna Island Spirit 40
Re: Family Plan

I think your wife will change her mind when she sees the cost of a power boat with enough range to "cruise the world".

Oh and don't forget that "range" doesn't come free. Not uncommon for boats that size to require $30,000 per fill..

However, I don't know your financial situation, maybe it won't be an issue for you.

In any case.. I suggest you use the "search" feature. Your question has been covered literally 100s of times over the last 10 years.
travellerw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2018, 11:40   #3