Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-05-2010, 21:23   #1

Dreaming in Delaware

Hello All!

I've been lurking for sometime and am finally getting around to registering.

Hi my name is [gwmort] and I want to sail away.

I'm a 37 yr old attorney in Delaware (USA, yes its a state). As a kid I was always interested in the sea. First real book I remember reading was Treasure Island. I tried to get on the water as much as possible on vacations and things (flipped a sunfish upside down in Disneyworld as a teenager). I went to St. Mary's College of Maryland and took a basic sailing class and loved it. I enlisted in the Navy around the time of the first Gulf War, not sailing but I loved crossing the Atlantic a few times, even if I was in the engine room most of the time.

Life took me away from the water for a while with finishing college and law school, starting my family, etc... Then I bought a 18 ft Hobie beach cat. I loved it ad got out when I could, but found it took to long to take it somewhere and set it up and launch it, then break it down and haul it back, so most of my very limited free time was spent with tasks other than sailing.

Then I went to law school and the limited free time disappeared. I sold the Hobie knowing I wouldn't be able to buy another boat til I can afford to keep it in the water during the season, not there yet.

I don't have any formal certifications and its been about 18 years since that course in college so I plan on going for some ASA courses over the next couple seasons so I can then qualify to take the family on some bareboat charters without the cost of a captain.