Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-09-2008, 07:24   #1

Boat: Beneteau Idylle 13.5 - Be Leaving
Brokers

Hello Mates,
I've been a member for awhile and enjoying the good discussions. I've reached a point in my life where a sabatical is do-able.

I've been sailing lakes in my trailerable for many years and have done live aboard classes along the Atlantic coast. My wife and I recently moved to Charleston and we are ready for a used cruiser.

The market is right for buyers but my concern is understanding how brokerages work. My wife has been in the Real Estate business for a very long time so I understand commissions, splits and representation. My question is; Are yacht brokerages run in a similar fashion. In real estate most brokers are more interested in locking you into listing your property than they are in taking out buyers to "kick tires." Are there Buyer's Agent/Brokers? Do the Brokers split their fees?

Thanks for your help and for the great entertainment!
Old 27-09-2008, 07:42   #2

Boat: Marine Trader 34DC
Brokers are interested in selling boats since they don't make a dime until they do. They split commissions with the listing house if they sell a listing from another brokerage. Find one broker and stay with him if you are comfortable that he is working for you and understand a what you want. Brokers encounter lots of tire kickers but don't usually ignore them. Todays tire kicker is tomorrows buyer. I have had people that I showed boats to for a year or more and they eventually bought something. There are many similarities to real estate. BTW, I highly recommend Bill Welch at Ashley Yacht Sales if you are in the Charleston area.

The Trawler Beach House
Voyages Of Sea Trek
AnchorageGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2008, 09:08   #3