Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-08-2011, 07:16   #1

Bitten by the Sailing Bug

Hello! I am new to the sailing community, and so excited to see the wealth of information available via this website! I am 26 years old, and began taking sailing lessons last summer when my boyfriend suggested it. I had no idea how much it would affect my life. This summer, we decided to crew on a ketch racing in the Buffalo Harbor Sailing Club, and it has been a delightful, informative experience! We're also reading everything we can get our hands on to boost our theoretical knowledge. Bryan and I have developed a float plan, hoping to buy our own small cruiser in a couple years and sail the seas. However, we need a lot of experience before we'll be able to do that, particularly blue water experience. We're hoping to get some part-time positions crewing on sailboats during December-January and May/June-August for the next couple years. He's in graduate school and I'm going back to finish my bachelor's degree after a couple years working full-time. The problem is we don't know anybody in the cruising world, and with so little experience I'm skeptical we'll be chosen to crew on anyone's boat. Any suggestions?! Your advice would be much appreciated - I dream of sailing every night, and want to make my dreaming a reality!
SweetSunshine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2011, 07:23   #2

Boat: Gulfstar, Mark II Ketch, 43'
Re: Bitten by the sailing bug

Welcome Aboard Cruisers Forum Sunshine
Unicorn Dreams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2011, 10:10   #3

Boat: Jon Sayer 1-off 46 ft fract rig sloop strip plank in W Red Cedar
Re: Bitten by the Sailing Bug

G'Day SS,

Welcome to CF and the wonderful world of addiction. You will find lots of fellow addicts here, and a ton of advice to be had, some of which is good. Your job is to discover which bits are in fact useful.