Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-11-2015, 07:46   #1

Artist Onboard

Hello All!
I’m new to the forum, but not new to sailing. I used to sail with my Uncle in Florida out of St. Pete.
He passed away in 2011 so I haven’t been on a boat since. I recently came across an opportunity to get back on the water! Yay!

I will be sailing in St. Thomas and the BVIs on an Island Packet 370 in mid December. I’m a watercolor artist and plan to sketch and paint as we go. Are there any other artists out there sailing?
Do you have any neat tips or tricks to share? I’ve painted plein air before, but not on a sail boat.

Glad to be a part of the water world again!
SuePro
SuePro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2015, 11:40   #2

Boat: Tayana Vancouver 42
Re: Artist Onboard

Sue, I too am an artist, although I'm a studio painter. I do primarily oil portraits and figurative works. You can see my paintings at www.michaelwitenstein.com. I'm afraid I don't have any suggestions for you. My work is very tight and realistic. If I tried painting on the boat even at anchor I'd have to convince my clients that their portrait was "cubist" on purpose.

When we moved aboard 3 years ago I brought my painting supplies, some canvases, a French easel, etc. but after a year I took them off the boat and put them in storage. I have a friend who paints in watercolor when he is ashore and it seems to work for him. I've been contenting myself with taking photos for reference when I get back into a studio situation.

S/V B'Shert
Tayana42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2015, 11:55   #3
Marine Service Provider

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Howdy Suepro and Welcome Aboard CF!