Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-03-2008, 09:36   #1

And the plan begins

Hello everybody,

I look forward to meeting, learning, and sharing experiences with the folks on this forum. Thanks to the organizer for putting it together and maintaining the site. I should probably start in this forum with one simple question, "am I being realistic?" As it stands right now, I would like to puddle around the Caribbean for 12 months on a 36-38 foot cruiser, starting at the end of hurricane season next year, Dec 2008. I have a moderate amount of experience, including basic bare boat and cruising classes 5 years ago, several bare boat charters as captain in Florida and BVI, and the experience of being a previous powerboat owner. I have been saving for this adventure for many years now, and now I am about to put the plan into place. Below are my assumptions and concerns. Any thoughts on these would be greatly appreciated. BTW, I am 34 years of age and will be doing this with my girlfriend who is equally excited about the opportunity to do this. I have intentionally tried to high ball the costs to make sure I have overestimated, not underestimated.

Costs
Boat - Around $70-80k for the boat (15 year loan at 6%apr).

Has anybody ever heard of long term boat leases?

Monthly Expenditures - ~$3,000 dollars (US). This is broken up as follows: Food - $800/month
Gas and Operating Costs - $200/month
Insurance - $100/month
Boat Maintenance - $740/month
Entertainment - $800/month
Bills - $300/month
Plan -
  • Learn as much as possible and level set expectations
  • Crew on a comparable type boat for a brief time
  • Buy a boat
  • If buying a boat in the southeast United States, hire a captain to assist with sailing to a point in the Caribbean
  • Learn, learn, learn