Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-12-2011, 21:42   #1

Aloha from Maui!

Aloha everyone!

It's nice to meet all of you. I'm new (obviously) to writing in this forum, but over the past few years I've been lurking quite a bit. I'm a 29 year old male living on the beautiful island of Maui. I've been here for about 5 years now, and I absolutely love it here. I'm also very new to sailing. Actually, not just new--in fact, I've never sailed before in my life, even though I owned a 22' sailboat for about four months. But that's something I'm planning to change!

A few years back I accidentally bought a 22' sailboat through eBay that was located in King Harbor in Redondo Beach, CA. Nobody had bid on it, it was one of those charity auctions, and it was still at $20. I didn't think there was any kind of chance it would sell for $20, but it did--to me! Having never sailed before in my life, I thought it would be a nice opportunity to live in the LA area while learning to sail my boat. It was already in a marina, so I just transferred the slip to my name and moved onto my boat. Technically I didn't live on board--there was a policy that you could only spend 14 nights a month on board your boat if you didn't have an 'on-board' slip. So I spent 14 nights a month on my boat, and the rest of the month I'd go van camping--usually at the nearby national parks. It was some of the most fun I've ever had in my life.

Sadly, I never did get to sail it. I tried to find someone who wanted to teach me to sail, but I found out all the rigging was old and would need to be replaced, and I didn't quite have the money. So I pretty much just enjoyed living there while I experienced LA, dreaming about taking my boat out.