Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-04-2018, 17:02   #1

Boat: Colvic Countess 33
Ahoy there from the crew of SV Oddity

Ahoy all,
I’m Greg and together with my friend Phil we just bought a beautiful Colvic Countess 33 in the UK that was never finished and never splashed.

My Sailing story starts with me hailing from an old Portuguese sailing family and I have done a fair bit of sailing in old traditional sailing boats and in tall ships in my youth, even having participated in a few builds.

I’m an engineer and travel extensively for my trade, In the UK I share a house with Phil and our sailing story starts there. Phil was extremely obese at 204 KG (451 pounds or 32 stone) He collapsed one day and I had to resuscitate him. While in the hospital resuscitating room he asked me why I wear an Earring. I told him that that it is an old Portuguese sailing tradition and mine was earned by my first blue water crossing and given to me by my grandpa. He said he would love to be able to earn one. I told him that would be easy. Just survive, learn how to sail, build a sailboat, cross the Atlantic and I will give him one like mine.
Well he survived, lost a few kg , now at 146 KG (321 pounds or 22 stone ) learned how to sail and now were building a boat. Next comes the Atlantic then he gets his earring and .. will see were it leads.
There that’s us.
We have a YouTube thing with a few videos of our “sailing “adventures , SV oddity on YouTube and were gonna have to finish the boat and cross the Atlantic so Phil can earn his earring.
SVOddity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2018, 13:58   #2
Marine Service Provider

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Re: Ahoy there from the crew of SV Oddity

Welcome Aboard!