Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Welcome Aboard > Meets & Greets
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-04-2017, 13:15   #1

Advice for absolute beginner

Hello everyone!

My name is Ron. I am a 48 year old father of 3 grown kids who have been on their own for a few years. I am single and unemployed...mostly by choice. I have worked as a software developer most of my adult life but have no interest in the cubicle life anymore. Think detail oriented, analytical type but with personality. No pocket protector here. With all my kids moved away, no job, and no wife...no strings holding me anymore. I have been in deep reflection over the past couple of years about my life and what I want to do. I was not prepared for the question, what do I want...after raising kids. They were my purpose and without them, I had to reflect on what I need to be happy. I realized I don't need much. So, with a nice 4br, 3bath house in Iowa and a bunch of stuff I don't need, I am looking for adventure, experiences, and a more minimalist lifestyle. Less stuff, more journey!