Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-05-2022, 10:20   #1

Boat: 1978 Tartan 34C
Wannabe to fulltime cruiser

It took us years of hard work, but my wife and I made it!!

We have been cruising fulltime now for almost a year.
We sailed south from San Francisco, California and are currently in the Sea of Cortez.

It has been a great experience, and we have enjoyed most of our new life so far. There have been a few moments that were miserable and many moments that were amazing.

I have not made very many posts on here, but I have lurked for years gaining knowledge and information. This forum helped keep my dream of cruising alive.

I would like to return the favor.

I'm hoping to have a "ask me anything about cruising" discussion from people who are still chasing their dream. I'm no expert, I can only share what has worked for us and what has not. I have learned a lot, made many mistakes, met a lot of great people, and have had a great time.

I hope other full timers will join in and share their experiences and knowledge as well. Everybody cruises a little differently.

Sam
Old 21-05-2022, 11:40   #2

Boat: Reinke S10 & Raven 26
Send a message via Skype™ to grantmc
Re: Wannabe to fulltime cruiser

Thanks fir the post and the offer Sjrider,

I have a question: What if anything did you buy for the boat, when preparing, that you now realise was a bit of a waste of time and money because you don't use?
Old 21-05-2022, 12:02   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by grantmc View Post
Thanks fir the post and the offer Sjrider,

I have a question: What if anything did you buy for the boat, when preparing, that you now realise was a bit of a waste of time and money because you don't use?

Thx Sjrider for this helpful post.

Grant, great question. One of the very best ever What We Learned posts is this one:

1500 Mile Interim Refit Report & 3596 Update & 5000 Mile link
Catalina 34 #224 (1986) C34IA Secretary