Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-07-2020, 08:10   #1

Location: Northern Rockies for now, trading Pine trees for Palm Trees
Retiring.......To a Sailboat

Hey All
I am new to the Forum.
I ask your forgiveness in advance if my post is one that has been posted many times before.
I am not an accomplished sailor by any means. I grew up in the SF Bay area and had a few friends that had sailboats from 26 to 41'. So I am not a complete newb at sailing.
I have long looked at living on a boat and I am now in the position to do so.
I have always been a person who seeks info from those that have gone before.

I would like to get a used boat that can handle blue water just in case we wanted to make a crossing.
I have been looking at both coasts and there are pros and cons of each, as well as the Caribbean and the South Pacific

I am a very accomplished woodworker and very good with my hands.
We both enjoy scuba diving and snorkeling as well as fishing from a boat.

We currently live in the northern Rockies so I have only been looking for boats online at present. I will work my last full time day of work on July 31, 2020.

I invite all who have gone before to share you incite with us (both positive and negative)
Thank you in advance for any and all reply's.
Mike and Susan
HilbllyJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2020, 08:22   #2

Boat: Freedom 38
Re: Retiring.......To a Sailboat