Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Life Aboard a Boat > Liveaboard's Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-08-2008, 16:47   #1

Questions/Advice about Living aboard

I am a Medical Student in New Orleans, LA. I don't have any sailing experience, but me and my finance would love to sail in the future, and I figured that now is as good a time as any to get started. I currently live in a cramped little dorm room, but my finance and our dog and cat would eventually be joining me. I was looking at an Ericson 34T '78 and was wondering if this would be comfortable. Also, is getting an old boat a bad idea? It seems to be in very good condition and of course I would have it surveyed. I would also make it a point to be present at the survey.( a little piece of advice I picked up somewhere in these forums). Who should I ask about finding a good surveyor? I read somewhere not to ask your broker. Is it a bad idea to jump into a liveaboard situation with almost no sailing experience? I don't plan on sailing much because most of my time is taken up studying for medical school, but I would hope to learn the ins and outs of sailing and maybe some valuable experience for future adventures! This is something I am fairly sure I want to do, but I don't want to make any big mistakes. I've been doing a lot of research and only recently found this forum. I have been reading the other post, and I would love to hear everyone's opinion.
silent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2008, 17:49   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Research vessel for a university, retired now.