Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Life Aboard a Boat > Liveaboard's Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-07-2020, 09:23   #1

Boat: Beneteau Swift Trawler 35
Nobody cruises from San Francisco to Miami

Hi there,

I'm a newbie in search of a 30' trawler to liveaboard and cruise. I live in Denver CO now, but came from San Francisco and know the west coast way better than the east coast of the usa. I hear tell the boats are better priced in FL, and that got me thinking, if I buy a boat in FL, but want to marina it in CA, wouldn't it make sense to pilot to vessel through the Panama Canal and then up the West Coast?

I haven't really seen anyone talk about this. Is this a trip nobody wants to take? If so, why not? Thanks,

Ross
rossikle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2020, 09:34   #2

Boat: Boatless
Re: Nobody cruises from San Francisco to Miami

Cheaper and easier to send the boat by truck and cruising in the Keys and Bahamas is excellent except for the occasional hurricane!

"Remember, experience only means that you screw-up less often."
s/v Moondancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2020, 09:36   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by rossikle View Post
Hi there,

I'm a newbie in search of a 30' trawler to liveaboard and cruise. I live in Denver CO now, but came from San Francisco and know the west coast way better than the east coast of the usa. I hear tell the boats are better priced in FL, and that got me thinking, if I buy a boat in FL, but want to marina it in CA, wouldn't it make sense to pilot to vessel through the Panama Canal and then up the West Coast?