Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Life Aboard a Boat > Liveaboard's Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-10-2007, 21:47   #1

Newbie Looking to Sail/Live Aboard

Hi, So I'm looking for some guidance/advice. I recently had the itch to live aboard. I'm a software engineer, living in San Diego, and I'm a big surfer. I'm a younger guy, renting a cottage right by the cliffs. I make a good amount of money, just not to buy a 400,000 house right now Recently my friends are all buying houses out here and the thought of buying a very expensive house inland does not appeal to me. Someone mentioned living on a boat and it kinda click with me and now I really got the bug. I'm thinking instead of wasting a good amount of money in rent, why not live aboard. Sail to all the surf spots in Californa and Baja. Sounds like the life to wake up jump off my boat and be yards away from the break. So I'd like to know what my first steps are in this whole process. I'm totally willing to take classes (I'd like to take them to make sure I like the whole thing). My Dad has always said how much he loved sailing, so I think I'd rather be into that than a motorized boat. I wouldn't be doing a lot of traveling with the boat. Mostly trips up and down the coast to surf and maybe a big trip once a year. Maybe if I just blurt out some questions it would be easier. What kind of boat should I be looking for? Can you even sail a boat by yourself? What are the different types of sail boats and pros and cons to each type? Sorry for such a long post, but I got a lot of questions. I'd love to talk to someone in the area and chat them up on what it's like. Thanks for your replies in advance! Awesome, Troy