Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-12-2014, 00:06   #1

Boat: Colvic Victor 41
Need advise - What boat to get

My partner and I are looking for a liveabord boat. I am new to this so here is what I consider as our "requirements" (my purchasing budget is 50-60 K US$).
We'd love a nice aft cabin with a queen size bed preferably island or "side to side".
Looking at layouts etc' I tend to prefer a Ketch with Center Cockpit, and a plus would be walkthrough rather than walkover.
I feel a 35-37 foot boat would be a little cramped for us, so a 40 and up is better.
I tend to be drawn to full keel boats (no logic behind it) and in terms of ease of use (I am 62 year old) I like an electric windlass and possible a bow thruster (if full keel).
My wife says the access to the fridg is important (so it is not tucked in a corner).
So... I would love to have someone who can take the time to be my "mentor" and respond to my meandering thoughts and ideas. Suggest boat models to search, etc'.
Right now I am fond of a colvic victor 41 that I saw at yachtworld.com .
Thanks!
Kismet3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2014, 21:34   #2
Marine Service Provider

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Re: Need advise - What boat to get

Howdy!

I like what you like: ketches, walkthrough, center cockpit, among other things.

I have a friendly suggestion.

You should make it clear where you will be looking to purchase and then sail the boat. Some big differences if the boats are in Malaysia or Seattle or Fort Lauderdale or Portsmouth England.

So, where would you likely purchase the boat and where do you plan to sail it?

For example, the ex-charter boat fleets in Croatia ( or anywhere in the Adriatic or Aegean) would be much closer to Israel than a boat located in Nova Scotia, Canada.