Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-08-2018, 11:49   #1

Boat: Hunter 27-2
Long distance ownership

Ok, I’m currently at least 10 hours away from any ocean. Living in Northwest Arkansas. I’ve been sailing for a few years now and really want to do some coastal cruising (two or so weeks at a time). I’m trying to figure out the best way to do it. My thought is to do this a couple times a year as well as some weekend jaunts. My first thought was to buy a trailer sailer. But I think comfort level is limited, and not sure how good it would be as a coastal cruiser. Also thought about chartering but not sure if that would be the most cost effective thing considering I would be wanting to do this about 30 days per year. That and I like to own vs rent. Not sure if it matters but I would probably do this on the Texas Gulf coast somewhere, or somewhere within reasonable distance. Just want to hear people’s thoughts or experiences with this sort of thing. Thanks!
SeaRags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2018, 12:32   #2

Boat: Legend 37.5, 1968 Alcort Sunfish, Avon 310
Re: Long distance ownership

Dry store on land, launch before you get there.
Tetepare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2018, 12:36   #3

Interesting. Had not considered this option. How much does it cost to launch and haul out? Is it feasible to do over a long weekend? Is cost based on boat size?
Old 10-08-2018, 13:14   #4

Boat: Morgan 461