Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Life Aboard a Boat > Liveaboard's Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-05-2015, 20:45   #1
cruiser

Boat: OPBs
Living aboard - East Coast of Aus

Hello

I've read some threads on here and done some other research on the subject of living aboard in Sydney and on the East Coast but I haven't found an recent, detailed information. There's been some recent (2015) anecdotes but I haven't found anything more.

It's something I'd consider doing in the next few years but I'm not sure I'd actually be able to make it work. I'm a fulltime professional, wearing a suit when I'm on the customer site kinda guy, work from home otherwise, and I'm currently in Sydney. My work means it's possible for me to move up and down the East coast though so I'd consider most places as long as it wasn't too far from a decent airport. I'm also from the Gold Coast originally and my family are still there so that'd definitely be an option. I also have to wait until I finish my post grad, another 12-18 mths. ..

So ... that preamble out of the way, is anyone living aboard anywhere in NSW? QLD? VIC? I knew some people who used to live aboard in Mooloolaba but I understand they've all been moved on now. That said, my understanding is that living aboard in QLD is legal? Unlike NSW?

My job means I'd definitely need to have access to a reasonable internet connection so, that's a consideration. I have a beer habit too so can't before too far from a beer source either. ..