Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Life Aboard a Boat > Liveaboard's Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-06-2011, 14:55   #1

Livaboard Hopeful... Need Help

This will be my first post here and would like to take the opportunity to introduce myself. My name is Wil and I live in the Seattle area, which is where I would be living aboard =) I have no experience sailing at this point but have been on the water most of my life and have been into wakeboard boats and the like until more recently. I will be taking sailing classes from a local club beginning in July once a week, most likely through September - possibly October depending on how things go. The idea of truly living "on" the water is extremely appealing and having no family at this point, I've decided that it's most likely the best time I could have this experience. I would be using it as an apartment throughout the week and possibly take it out a couple times a month to explore various portions of the Puget Sound. At this point the furthest I would plan to go is up to the San Juans, when I get things mastered and felt comfortable.

I'm hoping I can get some recommendations on where to start with this. I don't have a whole lot of money to sink into this venture right now and have been cruising craigslist.

Right now my criteria is:
... Under $5k
... 25-30'
... counter
... 2 burner range (propane)
... sink (warm/cold)
... mini-fridge (thinking possibly something I used to have in college, if possible?)
... head
... Sleep at least 2
... Possible shower (again, I'm used to the shower on a wakeboard boat, nothing fancy)
... Collapsible table (possible 2nd bed?)