Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-06-2019, 07:23   #1

House or Boat???

Hi everyone,
I am after some of your views with regards to buying a house or boat. Im 46 and have found myself at a crossroads in life whereby I am paying £750 a month out in rent for two bed property in North Devon. I have about 8 years left in my current job before I could retire. My aim has always been to retire abroad to the warmth as I hate the cold and the intention was to travel via a yacht.
I have completed several Sailing courses over the last 12 months up to Dayskipper but other than that I have little experience.
I am now considering the option of liveaboard down in Plymouth, with my partner and her son (11) instead of getting a mortgage for 20-25yrs. My finances will not allow me to do both, so it's either a boat or house. Boat wise I would be looking at anything from 50k - 100k. Don't want to pay anymore and the boats I am considering are Trident Warriors, HR, Southerley 110 and Moody's. Want something in the region of 36-40ft.
I am stuck in the dilemma of not knowing which way to go as both have pros and cons which I have sat down and worked through and wondered if anyone had any advice for me.
Thanks in advance.
Phil

Oh my partner does sail and is just as keen as me, so it's not a one partner driving it.
Phil5764 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2019, 07:32   #2

Boat: 50ft Custom Fast Catamaran
Re: House or Boat???

If you don’t like the cold, don’t winter in a boat. LOL it’s going to be a lot colder than any apartment or house.
Chotu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2019, 07:42   #3

Boat: Morgan Out Island 41