Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 31-03-2017, 02:59   #1

Help moving a boat

I'm really new to this my budget is slim I've been offered a job at a marina with free slip in Jersey. I have been offered a really nice 34 cal I however am afraid to sail it from rhode island down for us to live aboard I dnt wanna be one of those people some else has to risk their life for cause of stupidity on my part I can't afford trailoring or paying some one to do it I'm very mechanically inclined and am not affraid of work is there anyway to trade my helping someone to maintain or fix up there boat in exchange for helping me get this accomplished I can pay for boat to stay were it is for a bit but the goal of the job is the free slip so we have place to live they kin of have to go hand in hand Thankyou for any response sincerly Larry
Shehatesmyboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2017, 04:10   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Location: Lived aboard & cruised for 45 years,- now on a chair in my walk-in closet.
Boat: Morgan OI 413 1973 - Aythya
Re: Help moving a boat

Larry, It's a short day from Narragansett Bay to enter at Watch Hill and either head on into Long Island Sound if the current is right or take an overnight anchorage behind the barrier beach at Watch Hill. It's wise to wait at the Throgs Neck Bridge for the better current through the East River to the Battery at NYC and out Butttermilk Channel to Raritan Bay.