Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-03-2012, 17:47   #1

Educate Me Please.

Im a young guy who may have the opertunity to go on a long sailing trip. Basically I will have about two months to learn as much as possible about long distance sailing (possibly transatlantic), expenses, desiel engines, 12v marine /solar, navigation basics, and anything else. What books should I read. What are the most do and most don't rules of safety? I have very little experience so even the most basic know-how will be the biggest help thanks. Constructive and nonconstructive comments both welcome.
Jeffhiggs16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2012, 17:53   #2
Ram

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Cat in the med & Trawler in Florida
Re: Educate me please.

Welcome to the Forurm & Dont fall overboard rule #1
Ram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2012, 17:57   #3

Boat: Sailboat

1. Keep the water out of the boat
  2. Keep the people in the boat
  3. Don't run into hard things
it's a quote, I don't know the author.
LeaseOnLife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2012, 18:00   #4

Boat: Sailboat

if you want to get into the spirit of long term voyaging on small boats, I would start reading books from

Joshua Slocum - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Bernard Moitessier - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Dirk
LeaseOnLife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 11:35   #5
Boating writer, book author

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Various

Books, articles by Fatty Goodlander
Old 01-04-2012, 11:53   #6

Boat: Reinell 26 "Tobi Maru

Here are some things I can offer:

When moving about, be slow and deliberate. Use one hand for you and one hand on the boat. crawl on the deck if conditions dictate.