Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Life Aboard a Boat > Liveaboard's Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 31-08-2017, 10:25   #1
Marine Service Provider

Boat: Westsail 43
Do NOT keep your boat in North Carolina

We just had an unpleasant surprise. I work abroad on boats for a living, and when I'm away working I keep my boat in New Bern, NC. Cheap marinas and fairly protected. Just got a notice from the State of NC, they decided my boat is worth 100k (laughable, it's a beat up cruiser we bought for a quarter of that), and i need to pay 5% property tax on that value immediately plus late fees, and the same amount every year. Burden of proof is on me to show the boat is worth less than they arbitrarily decided, and the tax adds up to more than our slip fee by a good margin. Apparently the marinas here send the tax office everyone's information? So now I pay 5k/year on a boat worth maybe 25k? Anyone else have experience with this?
jcb47769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-08-2017, 10:42   #2

Boat: Grand Banks 42 MY
Re: Do NOT keep your boat in North Carolina

Quite frankly I'm sorry for you.

By the way where are those who recently criticized here the boat's taxes in France ? Deafening silence ?
Old 31-08-2017, 10:50   #3

Boat: Camano Troll

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcb47769 View Post