Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-04-2012, 14:41   #1

Boat: Morgan 45 CC
Send a message via MSN to betachz Send a message via Yahoo to betachz
Computer Data Backup Plan?

I'm a web designer and / graphic designer and plan to continue working while cruising on the East coast of US. I'm interested in what other people are doing to create redundancy for their data. I have a data repository need of about 500GB that needs to be backed up as I change, edit, add files over time. Some options I've been thinking about:
  1. Carbonite/Mozy type service. Seems the issue here is upload speeds and maxing out data plans with wireless plans like ATT and Verizon. Has anyone tried backing up regularly from ATT hotspots or the like?
  2. USB external drives. Issue here is probably speed and a need to ship out a duplicate for off site storage backup. Seems I would spend lots of time running my engine to power my extra devices.
  3. Ethernet/Wireless networked backup drive. Issue is probably powering this at all times to back up files as they are changed.

I'd love to hear what you do to prevent data loss and your thoughts on what a good plan is and how it has worked for you.

Thanks!
betachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2012, 14:46   #2

Boat: Caliber 40 LRC
Re: Computer Data Backup Plan?

I get along just fine with a 1 TB external HD. If you are worried about upload speeds, find a HD that has a firewire port along with the usb port. Provided your computer has a firewire out. I know that my Dell does.
Old 17-04-2012, 17:55   #3
֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎