Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 31-07-2017, 14:54   #1

Can 2 people live aboard and just be friends?

Ok, here's the thing. I have been working for a few years to find the right boat for me and my ex-gf/ex-fiancee (currently just friends, not even the best of) to live on and cruise the US coast and down to the caribbean/bahamas. I think I found the boat, and she agrees that it checks alot of the right boxes. She has been told by a relative whose friend has a sailboat that yearly costs to maintain a sailboat could equal or exceed 50k which is about what the boat costs (40' 1983 Bayfield). I have told her that yearly averages are equal to or less than half that to even live in a bit of luxury.

My question to you guys/gals is, Can two people who used to be together live on a 40' sailboat as just friends? and work together on cruising videos for youtube/patreon?

shyguy68 is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 31-07-2017, 15:32   #2

Re: Can 2 people live aboard and just be friends?

Awww no. lol at least not me. I think also to make a good vlog and videos there needs to be a connection. Just my opinion. Can it be done, sure why not! It depends on how well you really get along.

If you two go out and you see her go home with someone, will it bother you? If oh met someone along the way will it bother her?

hobopacket is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 31-07-2017, 15:42   #3

Boat: Leopard 39

I'm going to go out on a limb here, for you.
"...me and my ex-gf/ex-fiancee (currently just friends, not even the best of)?"

Make a new plan, Stan. You deserve better. Find a new lover/best friend to share your berth. Just MHO. P.S. Make it a younger one :-)
danielamartindm is offline   Reply With Quote Reply
Old 31-07-2017, 15:44   #4

Boat: Volkscruiser