Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Life Aboard a Boat > Liveaboard's Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-08-2019, 05:14   #1

affixing storage racks to hull, need help

I am new to boat ownership, so please be kind to a few simple questions. I am trying to determine the best way to hang a spice rack and a rack for utensils in the galley.

We have stripped down all the old carpet on the wall and we are installing insulation, then a headliner fabric to the walls. I know I obviously can't screw in these racks without fear of going through the hull.

Is epoxy like the 5200 what people use? I have watched many youtube videos and some say place the racks directly to the hull with this, not placing the headliner on for a better seal. Others have said use the 5200 for a 2x2 wood backing to the hull, then screw on the shelves or such.

Nothing I want to hang will have great weight, but I am trying not to have to redo the process from uninformed choices. Will the epoxy placed over a thin insulation pull it off the hull wall, hence do I need to cut out insulation slots for where I plan to hang these two racks? The insulation is that thermozite from sailrite with the 3M spray on adhesive.

Can anyone help clarify for me please!
nimbex1970 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2019, 05:58   #2

Boat: Contest 40
Re: affixing storage racks to hull, need help

What I do in a situation like that is to epoxy
a piece of wood to the hull that is thick enough to screw into.
teddythetwig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2019, 06:16   #3

Boat: Amazon 49 cutter, custom steel boat built in Surrey, Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by nimbex1970 View Post