Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-10-2020, 13:08   #1

accommodation design

its my novice opinion that boat interiors are designed with too many people in mind

i plan to buy a liveaboard soon. i was thinking about buying a fixer upper and gutting the interior. was sorta thinking mid 30s in length

i would make it suitable for 2 people to liveaboard and possible to entertain up to four people for a day sailing trip, but dont see the need to design an interior equipped to accommodate 8 people overnight.

my early inclination is to prioritize AC and DC power throughout, a front load refrigerator, proper heating and cooling, electric stove, shower stall, comfortable seating, and an aft master. being that i'll be building an all new interior i could change all electrical and mechanical systems to suit whatever configuration i choose.

i'm a general contractor and handyman. i also have more ambition and creativity than sense at times.

i just think i can design an interior better suited to my needs than any manufacturer provided one can.

anyone else think like me?
Drcaptain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2020, 13:18   #2

Boat: I can’t use epoxy. Please don’t suggest it. It can kill me. 50’ performance cat
Re: accommodation design

Could not agree more!

Way too many berths and no utility room.

4 heads and not a decent shower.

Those awful pits to keep cold food in.

I guess things were designed to be charter boats, mostly and it just sort of stuck.
Chotu is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2020, 16:50   #3

Boat: Sayer 46' Solent rig sloop

Hello, Drcaptain,