Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-07-2014, 16:49   #1

A Change Of Pace

I'm a college student and thinking about moving aboard a sailboat. I don't have much and condensing my stuff won't be an issue. I'm 5'9-5'11 so I'm thinking 25 foot? I don't mind hunching some but hopefully not. So I guess what size of boat is needed to meet the following areas
-Enough room for my height (V Berth most important)
- Need to be able to study for school
-Small enough for a first boat
P.S. Please also inform me of any other possible issues I might/will run across. I have no significant other or any pets. Thanks.

Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
CaptainShea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2014, 17:01   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Now boatless :-(
Re: A Change Of Pace

Welcome to CF seagull Shea!

Are you looking for a place to live or do you also want to sail?

I think you are asking about boat size but I am not sure. There are other more important questions.

What is your budget?
Where are you located?

These two questions define what sort of boat you can afford and may help define the complexities you will face in living aboard.
Ex-Calif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2014, 17:14   #3

Thanks for responding. I live in Washington and my budget is under 10k. I have been on a few 30s and 27s. They are "roomy" for a one man and the slips are more and the difficulty I assume is harder. But to get back to your question If I can get a boat 25-30ft --- $1500-9000.