Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Destinations > Sailor Logs & Cruising Plans
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-03-2014, 16:34   #1

Vancouver BC to Southern Islands (probably Cuba) Graduation Trip

Good time of day to everyone, hope your sailing is going well.

My friend and I are going to be graduating university next summer and we both really wanted to go on an adventure, in particular sail to the southern islands, in particular the islands around Cuba and the Turks and Caicos Islands area. I have some previous sailing experience, with lasers, FJs and a MacGregor 26. But no long-term sailing experience. I have also been reading the forums here, and found a lot of the answers I was looking for (or perhaps Im just too much of a worrywart). In any case, we are considering two options, buying a ready cruiser in the 29'-33' range, and just adding holding/water/fuel tank capacity + some equipment if missing. Or getting a project boat for a smaller price and fixing it up over the year. The budget we were looking at is around 15000 US. I have looked over some sailboat listing websites as well as craigslist, and found that there are some nice Catalinas or NewPorts that are withing our budget/size constraints. But I also read on these forums that these boats are not ideal for an adventure like this.

So to formulate my question:
-What would you say is a better option to buy a ready boat and add some
simple features for a higher price, or get a (possibly bigger) project boat and
finish it?
-According to some of the answers I read, preferred minimum size for such an adventure is 30'+; Would you say a 30' Catalina would be a good way to go?