Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-07-2006, 00:53   #1

Boat: FP Lavezzi 40 - Mareva
Preparing for a Circumnav - Questions!

Hello All,

Well, I've just kept my internet provider in business by reading through the Pat&Ali thread. (NO, NOT STARTING A DEBATE!!!)
But it made me think...as a total newbie (my husband has more experience!) we are planning a circumnav in about three-years time. What do you suggest we do to prepare to be self-sufficient and ready to go in that time?

So far, we have the boat (currently in charter to help pay it off, and to give us some time to sail her and learn her systems). I'm taking some RYA sailing lessons (Competent Crew and Day Skipper at least - my hubby already has Yachtmaster). We're planning full first aid/CPR courses for both of us, and I'll do a more intensive medical course and prep a full medical kit. My husband will do some engine and electrical systems training and prep (leaving that to the engineer, I am!). Closer to the time we'll be sorting charts, pilot books, etc. But I'd really like to hear some advice - the amount of experience on this forum is fabulous!

Thanks for any help you can give, and my apologies if I haven't placed this thread in the right grouping. And my apologies if this topic has already been covered! Please point me in the right direction! (These darn newbies... )
Mareva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2006, 01:10   #2

Location: Winter land based UK New Forest. Summer months away. Making the transition from sail to power this year - scary stuff.
Boat: Super Van Craft 1320 Power Yacht
Send a message via Skype™ to swagman
Hi Mareva,