Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Destinations > Sailor Logs & Cruising Plans
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-11-2009, 06:34   #1

Planning a World Circumnavigation - Trying to Estimate How Long it Will Take

Hello all,

I am a novice sailor with grand plans. A friend and i plan to take an extended break from working and sail around the world.

One big problem that we're experiencing at the moment is trying to plan the trip - specifically, how long the legs will realistically take.

At this stage i think that we're likely to be leaving from either Brisbane or Perth, depending upon where we find the right boat for sale.

We're looking at getting an old but solid and safe monohull around 35 foot in length. We will have a motor and will not be afraid to use it if necessary (although would prefer to minimise use of the motor).

I have MaxSea with charts for the entire world so i can calculate 'as the crow flies' distances relatively accurately.

Any advice people can offer on how to estimate how long our individual trips will take would be invaluable.

If leaving from Brisbane then we'd head north, round cape york, gove, darwin then off to Christmas Island. From there we'd head:

Cocos Keeling
Maldives
Aden
Suez
Through the med
Canary Islands
Carribean
Marquesas
Through the pacific islands back to Brisbane

I have started to put together a rough spreadsheet outlining the plan... see attached.

Any advice will be greatly appreciated!

Cheers,

Steve
Attached Files
File Type: xls Circumnavigation.xls (30.5 KB, 636 views)
Steve Pereira is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 06:50   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Valiant 40 (1975)