Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Destinations > Sailor Logs & Cruising Plans
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-08-2020, 17:36   #1

Boat: Looking
Best route from Bayfield, WS to Charleston, SC

Pre-trip planning. This trip will take place around April or May 2021. After Spring melt has settled down.

Talking to some friends has confused me. I know there are/were some canal or river closures this year leading into/out of the great lakes region to the east or south. They suggested going around and running Miss. River to the Ten-Tom and down to the gulf. Then come around FL up to SC. I am a novice sailor. I will have an experienced captain onboard. I've never been on the Miss or Ten-Tom in a boat. I don't think that's a good river system to cut ones teeth on in a larger sail boat. My idea was to work through the great lakes, through the canal system, and pop out in NY. Then run outside to SC. I would anchor at night. I don't want to un-step the mast, but if I have, to I have to. The boat Specs are 40ft LOA, 55ft AD, 6ft draft. I will confirm these numbers while I'm getting the boat ready for the water.
Old 18-08-2020, 03:07   #2

Re: Best route from Bayfield, WS to Charleston, SC

Quote:
Originally Posted by ben2go View Post
Pre-trip planning. This trip will take place around April or May 2021. After Spring melt has settled down.