Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-07-2011, 14:57   #1

Best Quick Introduction to Cruising

I'm a retiree who's spent the last 4 years building a junkrigged schooner (Badger, for those who've read Annie Hill's wonderful book). I intend to take her from Lake Michigan, out the St. Lawrence, to Newfoundland, then to Ireland/ Europe. Except for the St. Lawrence, I'll be singlehanding. I have experience sailing smaller boats in calmer waters, and also in Lake Michigan which can be fierce; on the other hand I'm getting old, but still quite fit. I've little experience in navigation, dead reckoning, anchoring techniques, or sailing junkrigged boats which I will practice next summer. My question is, anyone have suggestions about a quick introduction to cruising lasting a week or two that would acquaint with the basics in a hurry. I'm NOT interested in a series of steps that get me certified, whatever that means. Any and all replies greatly appreciated.
Thank you very much,
S Sittler
ssittler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 15:18   #2

Boat: CT 54... for our sins!
Re: best quick introduction to cruising

Welcome to CF.
Your plans sound very interesting. I hope you will keep us updated as you go.
One of the members here started The $50 Cruising Club, it's in the social groups area, the idea being cruisers and those keen to get some experience could meet up for a mutually benefitial week or more at low cost.
Good luck

www.windwanderer.weebly.com
VirtualVagabond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 19:00   #3

Boat: Gulfstar, Mark II Ketch, 43'

Welcome Aboard Cruisers Forum
Unicorn Dreams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 19:24   #4
cat herder, extreme blacksheep

Boat: 1976 FORMOSA yankee clipper 41