Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-07-2009, 23:23   #1

Thumbs up Yacht Deliveries

Hi all I am a newby to this forum. I admit I have not read EVERY thread on this forum, so I am sorry if this has been discussed before.

I heart that the sailing charter companies in the Caribbean pay people to sail their boats to the Med at the end of the season, and then back to the Carib at the end of the Med season. Is it true? Can one make a few dollars supplemental income doing this? How much would each delivery pay?

I am currently an airline pilot, thinking of retiring and taking up the cruising life. Just looking at some options to supplement the cruising budget. Any info or advice appreciated.

Thanks
biggles72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-2009, 01:40   #2
Marine Service Provider

Boat: Sailing vessels up to 200 tons
From my experience as a delivery skipper: Generally the company will only pay the skipper on deliveries - the best the crew will get is travel and all found on board, the worst is that the crew will have to pay a contribution to onboard expenses plus their travel.

Getting a job as a delivery skipper takes time and you need to have very good experience of different waters, conditions and a substantial number of sea miles logged.

Hope this helps

Delivering boats for a living - no more!
edsailing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-2009, 05:07   #3

Boat: CS36Merlin, "La Belle Aurore"
Very difficult for a newbie to make a living delivering boats. Most major charter companies have delivery contracts with delivery firms who have the skippers. Only the skipper gets paid. The others do it for the "experience". Some small charter outfits even charge crew for the experience when re-positioning boats. Sorry to say not much call for flying experience in cruising. Now, if you were an airplane mechanic for small planes you might pick up a buck or two.
Old 27-07-2009, 05:36   #4

Boat: Boatless