Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Life Aboard a Boat > Boat Ownership & Making a Living
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-04-2016, 05:29   #1

Yacht buying in Italy.. Assistance required.

Good day to all,

I have recently arrived to Germany from New Zealand with the intention of purchasing a yacht and being able to sail around the Med for a year or so. We will then tale the boat back to NZ.

I am a permanent resident in New Zealand and have lived there for 27 years on my British passport. My wife is also a permanent resident in New Zealand and has lived there for over 8 years on her German passport. We both have permanent residence visa's in our passports

I have found a yacht that we both like, located in Italy registered under the Italian flag.

I would like to be able to purchase it "VAT not paid" as we will plan to sail the yacht back to New Zealand.

Does anybody know if I am able to purchase the yacht as being a resident of New Zealand and register the yacht under the New Zealand flag, with my British passport showing my permanent residence visa? I am not a citizen of New Zealand and do not have a NZ passport.

I am getting contradicting answers from brokers in Italy I have spoken with.

Thank you in advance
tinynical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2016, 05:45   #2
Senior Cruiser

Community Sponsor
Cruisers Forum Supporter

pirate Re: Yacht buying in Italy.. Assistance required.

I can see no problems as to why you may/can not.. forget about the Italian brokers and contact the NZ Yacht Registration agency.. the brokers likely have not a clue
By rights if you are an NZ resident you are entitled/required to register her there if you intend to take her back there.. they explain the process and supply the needed forms to you.
Then just buy the boat and send off the paperwork as normal.