Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-08-2020, 00:48   #1

Transition from Aviation

Aloha all,
I'm an aircraft mechanic currently, and have a job only for the next 60 days. Aviation is looking a little rough, so I've been wondering:
How hard would the transition be from working on aircraft, to boats? I'm a good mechanic specifically in sheetmetal and fiberglass repair. It might be a long shot, but does anyone have experience transitioning over? Is it possible to make a living off of mobile repairs without a certificate? I can't really afford to go back to school at the moment, but would consider it if absolutely necessary.
Mahalo in advance!
Fountainofclyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2020, 05:44   #2

Boat: 1985 Ericson 32-3
Re: Transition from Aviation

I'm a retired engineer/A&P, been refitting my own boat, and have a friend who takes care of boats in several marinas. Working on boats is comparatively easy and a LOT translates. Not all, but a lot. One of the strangest parts is how much cruder the boat stuff is and how much more the emphasis is on fastest job completion. Too many boat techs will do whatever it takes to get a wire from A to B rather than wiring to the standards of AC43.13 or even ABYC 11. Of course that also means that somebody doing things right will have owners seek them when the owners want something done right.

That said, there are significant differences and boats have a lot of traditional things to learn too. It's kinda like going back to the first times you timed a single versus double magneto and learned that how you do it on a Cessna just won't work in the tight confines of a Mooney.

For the knowledge/tech side, I'd suggest checking into one of the ABYC electronic courses. They are relatively inexpensive and that certificate could make a good pay check. That's the tech side.