Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Life Aboard a Boat > Boat Ownership & Making a Living
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-01-2019, 15:19   #1

Boat: Super Tiki 16 ft.
Newbie looking for advice on buying old boat to cruise

Hello there,

as referred in the title: I'm a 23 yrs old newbie (own a 16 ft dinghy for three years now on a local lake in Germany, about 400 nm experience crewing on a 40 ft yacht) looking to buy an old boat (around 30-35 ft.) to start cruising with my girlfriend and long-term friend with whom I also own the dinghy with.
I've been binging the life of cruising for longer time now only in books and on the internet like crazy with the intention to go on a longer cruise the end of this year starting EU, transatlantic, etc. After that, I'd sell the boat again because the budget would be gone and costs to maintain it would be too much for a student by then (right now I am working after 3 yrs of apprenticeship and getting money this way).

I know it might sound too much of a plan (experience, time of departure) but I am keen to realize it and think of myself that I am able to manage it somehow because the will to do it is so big like nothing else for a longer time now.

I am going to survey the boat in Febr.. At first for myself, if condition looks okay in my -not so practical experienced but I guess okay theoretical experienced- eyes, the plan is to get a professional surveyor for the second look on the hard and in water to get a look of it.

This is the boat: https://www.boat24.com/de/segelboote...detail/354895/