Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-08-2013, 07:32   #1

Newbie Has Questions About Living Abord And Initial Home Porting/Registering

Hello All,

This is my 2nd post here. If all works out I am contemplating a complete life change and moving onto a boat in the next year. Not so much in need of tips on how to live on the water, but looking for the quick and dirty about where to register (US) considering my current residence and multi state income sources. Bear with me as I explain. I currently do work in Florida and Northern Virginia. For the first year or so I would probably keep the boat (30'+ sail) in Maryland on the Chesapeake Bay, but If I found the right boat in FL, keeping it near St. Pete would be an option also. Eventually I am hoping to semi retire and try to spend as much time sailing the Gulf and Caribbean when I feel I have got my skills up to it. I'm currently a Florida resident, but elderly parents have me in Virginia a lot lately. So I looked into it a tad bit and it looks like Virginia has some good rates (better than FL at first look) on registering and taxes. But I'm pretty certain I won't keep it in Virginia at all since there is no good sailing close to where I live when there. The Bay is not too far a drive though, and good sailing.