Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Life Aboard a Boat > Boat Ownership & Making a Living
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-04-2022, 09:29   #1

Need logisitic advice help in buying a boat

The situation is I am on the wait list for a 32' slip and have been for the past 1.5 yrs. the marina has 28' slips available now and allows for 2' overage. I am interested in a Tartan 30 but the owner measured it and with bowsprit it's 30' 6" and the marina says they are strict with overage. I can not keep the slip the boat is presently in and there are no 30' slips available in this region (Seattle/Everett) that I can come up with. I am new to sailing and don't feel comfortable anchoring for a long period of time. Any ideas of where I could keep it until a slip opens or do I just pass on this boat and concentrate on 28' boats?
Capt Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2022, 14:13   #2

Boat: Sayer 46' Solent rig sloop
Re: Need logisitic advice help in buying a boat

Yes, it looks like you'll have to pass on the boat that is 6 inches too long to be squeezed into a 28 ft. berth. Imo, you're looking for a 30 footer w/o a bowsprit, max. Which you could then move into the 31 ft. berth when one becomes available. It's always nice to have a little extra room in a berth, and not have the stern hanging out, vulnerable to inept docking procedures.

Ann
Old 19-04-2022, 14:39   #3

Are moorings an option in your area? Are they more available?

We had to a take a mooring for the first year we bought our current boat (about 6 yrs ago).
Shrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2022, 14:48   #4

I'll have to investigate this. There are moorings but when I've talked with the harbor master he told me most of them were illegally placed and would be removed "at some time".
Old 20-04-2022, 05:41   #5