Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-06-2014, 10:07   #1

Buying a Boat and Looking for Advise

I have the opportunity to buy a Bristol/Starsail Corinthian 19' from my uncle and I need some advise. I'm new to sailing (as in I've never sailed or owned a boat) so I have no idea about boat value, handling, and all that. Back story on the boat is that My uncle bought it about 8 years ago and pretty much rebuilt it from the ground up. He's lived on it for the last 5 years and is ready to get something bigger. He's taken very good care of it and it still looks almost brand new. He got a new 4 stroke motor for it 4 years ago and has kept that in very good condition as well. The sails are about 4 years old and have been well cared for too. It doesn't have a radio, or GPS system. He's also agreed to give me sailing lessons, and will let me dock it at his slip for free for the next 2 years. It will also come with a trailer, but the trailer isn't in great condition. It would be ok for pulling it out of the water during a hurricane and moving it around town, but that's about all. He offered to sell it to me for $5000. Is this a fair price? Also is this boat "sea worthy"? Can I take it in the open ocean or am I going to be confined to the channels and inlets? Is this a good boat for a beginner, the rigging seems pretty straight forward. Any advise you can offer would be great! Thanks Reddit.
Cubanesis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2014, 18:49   #2

Boat: Sayer 46' Solent rig sloop
Re: Buying a boat and looking for advise