Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Life Aboard a Boat > Boat Ownership & Making a Living
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28-05-2013, 21:10   #1

Budgeting for long term circumnavigation

Hey everyone,

I've been planing on attempting a world circumnavigation for many years now and am finally getting into the beginning of the preparation stage now! Although it's still many, many years away. Anyways, I'm trying to create an initial plan for the budgeting now, and I figured some of you could really help me!

I've estimated I could buy a decent 35-45 bluewater sailing yacht for around $75,000, given I invest enough time in the search. Does this seem accurate?

My primary question is, how much should I budget, per month, for time under sail? I suppose this includes food, repairs, fuel, mooring costs, international visas, etc. As I plan on making a really comprehensive trip around the world; how would these expenses change in someplace like French Polynesia vs. Continental Asia vs. Europe vs. Latin America vs. Africa and other locations?
I know it's very hard to come up with an accurate estimate for all these, but could anyone give me an idea based on their experience?

Thank you very much!
walloon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-05-2013, 21:23   #2

Boat: Kelsall Suncat 40
Re: Budgeting for long term circumnavigation

Somewhere between $10 000 and $100 000 per year. Depends on you, the boat, your crew, location, etc.

Jimbo485 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-05-2013, 22:37   #3

haha So you're saying it really depends on how frugal you are then? But $10,000 a year is really possible?

Thanks for the reply!
walloon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-05-2013, 22:45   #4