Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-07-2006, 18:44   #1

Boat: Tayana FD-12
ATM transaction fees

Perhaps this is the wrong place to post but i was wondering what kinds of transaction fees people have for ATM transactions with their banks. I was just charged 10 US dollars for ATM transaction fee in Dominican Republic. And I onyl took out 60 diollars. I have sovereign bank, but i guess I will be moving my money elsewhere before we take off next month. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Petar
phorvati is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2006, 09:22   #2

Petar, I'm no expert but I have traveled all over the world and used many ATM's. I am a Wachovia Bank customer and if memory serves, I can withdraw money from my regular checking account with no fee outside the U.S.. You should contact banks in your area to see what their policies are in this regard. You should also contact your credit card companies to see what fees they charge for cash withdrawls outside the U.S.. Generally, credit companies charge heftier fees than regular banks and you can end up spending quite a bit on fees if you're not careful. It really pays to do a little calling around and some research. One other thing: make sure you have all your bank card and credit card information duplicated and available to you should it be lost or stolen while you're abroad. Toll free U.S. numbers don't usually work when one is out of the U.S.. One other thing: it's a good idea to notify your bank and credit card companies that you will be traveling abroad and for how long. It often happens that they will deny a charge if they see it coming from some distant locale and if you're really desperate for money this could present problems. That's my two cents worth.
mjlanglois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2006, 11:45   #3
֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎

Petar-