Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-07-2019, 21:11   #1

Are wooden hull boats a viable option or should I steer clear?

I am new to sailing anything bigger than an old sunfish. I finally got my wife and son into it and we are looking at buying our first boat. Most boats I looked at are fiberglass but there is one I keep seeing on Craigslist and various boat broker sites. It is a wooden hulled boat. I have seen it at its mooring as I sailed passed during lessons. I cannot see anything obviously wrong with it but I don’t really know much about what to look for other than a if it had a recent survey and the general condition. My first question is aside from the obvious building material differences, are there any significant differences in maintenance or soundness of the hull itself?

2nd. I live in Hawaii and have heard that the climate here is hard on wooden hulls. One marina will not allow a wooden hull boat without a survey in the previous year when applying for a slip.

Lastly, is it worth considering a wooden hull boat if you are not well versed in carpentry?
Surfdoc23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2019, 22:04   #2

Boat: 50’ Bavaria
Re: Are wooden hull boats a viable option or should I steer clear?

You should approach an old wooden boat with your eyes very wide open. It’s a very different game from plastic boats. Find a local who is sitting on his good condition wooden boat and offer him beer to talk to you about it and perhaps even look at the boat for you. You will learn a lot.

I did last time I did that. Turned out to be Tom Cunliffe
Tillsbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2019, 22:10   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Surfdoc23 View Post