Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Life Aboard a Boat > Fishing, Recreation & Fun
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-08-2014, 16:39   #1

Boat: Searunner 40 trimaran, WILDERNESS
Sources for learning Polynesian language

I'm hoping to be visiting the Marquesas in 2016, and in preparation I am studying French (using Rosetta Stone). I am curious, though, about picking up some understanding of the native languages of Polynesia. I know there are similarities, and that there must be some resources to learn to speak elementary Polynesian, but where?

I seem to have a knack for learning languages, and I love the feeling of being able to overhear locals talking and to get a picture of what is going on. I am fluent in Spanish, and I can speak enough Swedish to make my way across the country by sailboat, but French has always been a draw for me. Picking up some language skills in Marquesan and the the other dialects used in French Polynesia would be very cool.

Does anyone have suggestions for expanding my communication skills? Besides getting a local lover?
Roy M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2014, 17:40   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Boat: 1976 Sabre 28-2
Send a message via Yahoo to roverhi
Re: Sources for learning Polynesian language